The Donald R. Woods Lectureship Award for Lifetime Achievement in Chemical Engineering Pedagogy

Award Description

This award is presented to a distinguished engineering educator to recognize and to encourage outstanding achievement. This award will normally be given for lifetime achievement, recognizing a sustained career of contributions to pedagogical practice, scholarship, and mentoring that not only caused innovative and substantial changes, but also inspired other educators to new behaviors that benefit students in Chemical Engineering.

About Don Woods

McMaster Engineering’s Tribute Video for Don Woods

Donald R. Wood’s Obituary from The Globe and Mail

Don Wood’s Profile on AICHE

Award Info

Description of The Donald R. Woods Lectureship Award for Lifetime Achievement in Chemical Engineering Pedagogy on ASEE’s website

Award Recipients

2024 Donald R. Woods Lectureship Award Recipient

Bernard Van Wie

Washington State University

Former Award Recipients

The Donald R. Woods Lectureship Award is merit-based and nomination-based and, as such, is not necessarily awarded every year. This award was formerly called the Lifetime Achievement Award in Chemical Engineering Pedagogical Scholarship

YearAwardeeAwardee Institution
2002James E. Stice
University of Texas
Richard M. Felder
North Carolina State University
2004Phillip C. Wankat
Purdue University
2005H. Scott Fogler
University of Michigan
2007John W. Prados
University of Tennessee
2008Klaus D. Timmerhaus
University of Colorado- Boulder
T. W. Fraser Russell
University of Delaware
Ronald L. Miller
Colorado School of Mines
2012John Prausnitz
University of California, Berkeley
2013Ronald W. Rousseau
Georgia Institute of Technology
Morton Denn
The City College of New York
John Falconer
University of Colorado
2019Joseph Shaeiwitz
Auburn University
2021Taryn BaylesUniversity of Pittsburgh
2021Milo KoretskyOregon State University
2024Bernard Van WieWashington State University