Edgar CACHE Award

Award Description

This award, sponsored by the Computer Aids for Chemical Engineering (CACHE) Corporation, is presented for significant contributions in the development of computer aids for chemical engineering education.

Professor Edgar was the President of the CACHE Corporation in 1982 and 1983 as well as the Executive Director from 2000 until 2017.

Sponsor: Computer Aids for Chemical Engineering (CACHE) Corporation

Award Info

Description of Thomas and Donna Edgar CACHE Award for Excellence in Chemical Engineering Education on ASEE’s website

Award Recipients

2022 Thomas and Donna Edgar CACHE Award for Excellence in Chemical Engineering Education Recipient

Rafiqul Gani


The use of computers in chemical engineering education and application to solution of industrial problems has been the focus of recently retired Professor Rafiqul Gani’s career at the Technical University of Denmark for more than 30 years. Professor Gani has specialized in the development of systematic computer aided methods/tools, including state of the art group contribution-based property prediction models, computer-aided molecular (product) design, process synthesis/design toolbox, product/process modeling toolbox and many more. These tools have been successfully disseminated to industry and educational institutions around the world through textbooks, papers, case studies, workshops and special courses.

Former Award Recipients

The Thomas and Donna Edgar CACHE Award for Excellence in Chemical Engineering Education Award is merit-based and nomination-based and, as such, is not necessarily awarded every year.

YearAwardeeAwardee Institution
1996Kenneth Jolls
Iowa State University
1997Douglas Cooper
University of Connecticut
2000Mordechai Schacham
Ben-Gurion University, Israel
2002Ernest J. Henley
University of Houston
Arthur W. Westerberg
Carnegie Mellon University
2004J.D. Seader
University of Utah
2005David M. Himmelblau
University of Texas at Austin
2006James M. Douglas
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
2007Lorenz T. Biegler
Carnegie Mellon University
Bruce A. FinlaysonUniversity of Washington
2009Brice CarnahanUniversity of Michigan
Duncan Mellichamp
University of California, Santa Barbara
2011Michael E. Hanyak, Jr.
Bucknell University
2012Stanley Sandler
University of Delaware
2013Edward M. Rosen
Monsanto Company (retired)
2014Jim Henry
University of Tennessee, Chattanooga
2015George Stephanopoulos
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2016Milo Koretsky
Oregon State University
2018Jennifer Sinclair Curtis
University of California, Davis
2019H. Scott Fogler
University of Michigan
2020Matthew Liberatore
University of Toledo
2021John FalconerUniversity of Colorado
2022Rafiqul GaniPSE for SPEED